Visa Regulations

Entering the United States, the one shall consider issuing a visa as one of the first legislative steps. However, it is important to mention that the citizens of certain countries may enter the United States without issuing a visa under a Visa Waiver Program.

A Visa Waiver Program, valid on the territory of the United States since 1988, allows the citizens from the certain list of countries to enter the United States without a visa for the business or tourism purposes for no longer than 90 days. The countries that are a part of the program are: Australia, Andorra, Austria, Brunei, Belgium, Chile, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Iceland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Luxembourg, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Monaco, Malta, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Singapore, Switzerland, Taiwan, United Kingdom.

To acquire the membership in that program, the citizen may buy it online via the Electronic System for Authorization (ESTA). After the document is issued, it will be valid for two years and allow to travel to the United States under certain policies.

Additionally, Canada, Cayman, Bermuda, Mexico, The Turks, and Caicos Islands citizens may enter the United States without a visa as well.

However, there are still some regulations that shall be met by the citizens of those countries when entering the United States:

Bermudians and Canadians may enter the United States without a visa for no longer than six months only;

The limit a maximum of 90 days is applicable for those that come to the United States under a visa-free regime;

Notably, citizens of the Marshall Islands, Palau, and the Federated States of Micronesia have a legal right to come to the United States with the study or business purposes in case if they provide a valid passport or any other identification document.

Two types of visas are available for those entering the United States: Immigrant Visa that might be obtained for the permanent stay in the United States, and Non-Immigrant Visa that might be acquired with the purpose of the temporary visit in the United States (tourism, business, or studying).

Notably, citizens of Libya, Iran, Syria, Somalia, Venezuela, North Korea, and Yemen were suspended from the ability to receive a visa after the presidential proclamation of Donald Trump dated of December 4th, 2017.